New Guy

So i am new to the brewing game, got a kit from the wife last year for Xmas, and since I have made 6-7 different batches.
By beer number 2 I was already starting to experiment with different ingredients and some hops…

Well now i am moving out of the beer Kit and have bought a nice 8gal (Northern Brewer :slight_smile: ) pot…some nice fermenting buckets, and plan on bigger batches as opposed to the 2.5 gallons i was brewing…

My first order from Northern Brewer is the White House Honey Ale, i made one myself and it came out good, but I hear this recipe is pretty decent.

Any thoughts and tips for a new guy??

My honey ale…

Looks like a nice pour! Good and clean looking. As for tips I’m going to go with yeast management. Have no idea were you are in that regard so I’ll just list a few things, you can find more info on any of these on this forum or else where on the internet:

Start making yeast starters if using liquid yeast.
Use Mr. Malty or Yeastcalc online to determine how much yeast you need to pitch for every batch.
If you’re not doing it or not doing it well start thinking about aeration techniques.
Make sure to cool wort to slightly below the temp you want to ferment at.
Look into temperature control for fermentation. Cheap route would be a swamp cooler.

There are cheaper do it yourself routes for everything listed above or the more expensive but less fun store bought versions available at our hosts store or any other homebrew shop.

+1 to everything above.

and welcome!

Just wanna say…that’s a beautiful beer! And nicely packaged/presented! I agree with the previous posters…yeast management and temp control are a good plan!

:cheers:

Started my batch of the White House Honey ale last night, what a huge process compared to what i was used too! It was a blast, knowing I put that much time and effort in to it will make it that much better when it comes out of the bottle!