New brewer: Airlock question

Hello,

I am new to home brewing and was very excited for my wife and I to brew our first batch. All went well and we paid close attention to all the steps in the process including keeping everything clean. The batch is currently in the first fermenter and we noticed for the first couple days a decent amount of activity with release from the airlock, but not much since then.

Is this common or do we just need to be patient? We brewed the Irish Red Ale kit and it says to keep in the first fermenter for 1-2 weeks. Any tips, tricks, or advice would be helpful.

Thanks all!

Sounds exactly like what happened on my first batch (still in the fermentor) but spending some time on these forums has helped me immensely understand a lot of my mistakes.

What tempurature was the wort at when you pitched the yeast? Sounds like you probably pitched too hot and it completed the fermentation within the first day or so. Same exact thing happened to me.

Hey mattnick,

I added the yeast while the wort was around 74-75F, so it was below the 78F threshold the recipe recommended. It is stored in an unfinished basement where the temperature is constant. The activity was not rapid over the first 1-2 days, so I would not assume that fermentation could not have completed in such a short time, but I am new to this, so who knows lol.

Thanks!

Fermenting yeast produces heat. About a 5° temperature rise can be expected for a beer around 1.049 SG. You pitched at about 75° so fermentation most likely was in the low 80°s. At this high of temperature fermentation will go fast, and produce a bit more heat. Some off flavors will develop. These flavors will be less noticeable in a stout than a cream ale.

Try to cool your wort to the low or mid 60°s before pitching the yeast. Look up swamp cooler for keeping fermentation temperatures constant and in the low to mid 60°s.

Welcome to brewing.

Hi flars,