New Blichmann Brew Easy

I’ve been brewing for 14 years. I’ve been away from the forum for about 5 years. Retired now, so I can devote full time to my interests.

I just bought a Blichmann Brew Easy, the entire package, including the “tower of power”. I have run two batches through it, a Bass ale and Old Speckled Hen. Putting it together was a real learning experience. I had a few minor problems running the two batches, but worked things out with no disasters. Hit the final gravity and water volume within reason.

To other Blichmann users, I am going to have questions, I’m sure. I had trouble adjusting the burner flame so that it would light each time the sensor told it to. Also it seemed to have a short cycle, sometimes firing at one minute intervals and then burning for only 15 secs. I was running a five gallon batch. Is this normal?

Overall I really like the system. They seem to have thought of everything. I imagine that part of the problem will be solved by me learning the system.

Thanks in advance for any comments. It’s good to be back on the forum. I remember the forum as being composed of very friendly, helpful people.

Reb

Where did you buy it? And, what were the problems you had, if I may ask?

I’ve been interested in it for a bit now (see: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=122740&p=1071530&hilit=blichmann#p1071416 ) but haven’t actually seen it for sale, anywhere. I’m also only interested in the electric version, so I can brew in my kitchen during Minnesota winters.

I sold off all of my other major equipment, so I couldn’t brew right now if I wanted to. I’m either going to spend big on the BrewEasy, or I’m going to “go home,” and leave the hobby. It’s a tough decision, not helped by the fact that I’d be buying the expensive system sight-unseen.

[quote=“Silentknyght”]Where did you buy it? And, what were the problems you had, if I may ask?