Need some info on California Common

Hi All,

I’m a bit confused this morning. I have been attempting to decide what to brew next and had a couple styles in mind. A Saison or a California Common.

Neither of which I have even tasted. So, I went to a local store that carries a bunch on imported and local craft/home brews.

I picked out a Victory brewery Saison du Buff and a White Birch Brewing California Common.

Now the Saison tasted exactly as described in reading, earthy, peppery etc.

The Common tasted like a Barleywine to me. It was heavy, sweet with a very hard bite. I expected a light drinkable vs sipping brew. I am wondering if that was a miss labeled brew. The label stated this should be a “sessionable” beer. It is batch one of the breweries “Apprentice program”

granted I am very new to brewing but I thought the term sessionable was generally used for lighter smooth beers. Is what I’m describing what a California Common should be?

Don’t think so. Ones I’ve had were pretty easy drinking.

Go buy an Anchor steam, you can get one pretty much anywhere. It is the california common/steam beer that most people think of when you say california common.

White Birch is pretty awful in my experience. Don’t expect their beers to be representative of much of anything.

Thanks, but I was hoping that was not the case!

I’ll see if I can find Anchor Steam somewhere and give that a taste.

I believe anchor steam will not disappoint. Had it for the first time a few weeks ago and it was an easy drinking beer but had a great flavor. Plus the bottle is, imo, unique looking so I keep them to use for my brews.

+1 on the Anchor Steam. It was the first craft beer I experieneced way back in the day…Oh, about…forget about it. it was a long, long time ago. But yes, it’s a very drinkable beer.

just to add to the great replies above, sounds like you might have had a bad example.