My OG is never as "advertised"

I’m a newbie, and have brewed three batches so far:

American Rye - OG suppose to be 1.042 - mine: 1.020
Caribou Slobber - OG suppose to be 1.052 - mine: 1.042
Houblonmonstre Tripel IPA - OG suppose to be 1.082 - mine 1.070

The first one was so far off I did it like 2-3 times each the 2nd and 3rd time. Each time I spun the hydrometer to make sure the bubbles weren’t holding it up, then I took the reading right below the little bubbles at the top of the wort in the test jar.

Is this “normal” or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Dave

All grain or extract? Did you temperature correct your readings?

Are they extract partial boils, topping off with water?

If so, your top off water is probably not thoroughly mixed.

All three were extracts, and I have no idea what you mean by “temperature correct” - so I’m guessing that very well could be it. Guess I have some “learning” to do - thanks much guys!

:cheers:

Because it’s so much lower would suggest that you might be adding too much top off water. That can make a big diff in getting a lower O.G. That was my first thought.

[quote=“Old Guy”]Because it’s so much lower would suggest that you might be adding too much top off water. That can make a big diff in getting a lower O.G. That was my first thought.[/quote

Even with the right amount, it’s VERY hard to get it mixed thoroughly enough to get an accurate reading. If the OP used all the ingredients and ended up with the correct volume, he HAD to get the correct OG, no matter what the reading.

[quote=“Denny”][quote=“Old Guy”]Because it’s so much lower would suggest that you might be adding too much top off water. That can make a big diff in getting a lower O.G. That was my first thought.[/quote