My First Kegging Setup

Well guys I am fairly new to brewing but I love it so much I am wanting to get into kegging. I am doing some research and have narrowed down kegs, CO2 tanks Regs and the such but my question is on hosing. What size hosing is used from the regs to the kegs and what size isd used from the kegs to the taps?

I watched a video on Northern and they said something about using a certain size prevented foaming but I couldn’t really understand where. I am only doing a chest freezer with four kegs and a double reg to force carbonate one while using others.

On a side note I am from Fort Worth Texas and also new to your forums. I have lurked for several months in both forums and the video channel just wanted to wait to post.

Welcome!

I’m new to kegging as well, so I’m sure some of the veterans can fill in the gaps. Here’s what I’ve learned. For gas, you can use 1/4" or 3/16" ID tubing. Really doesn’t matter. Just need to make sure you get a good seal.

Different story for liquid line. Diameter and and line length are very important. You definitely want to use 3/16" ID tubing. Line length is a matter of debate, but the absolute minimum is 5 feet. Some guys go 10-12 feet in order to reduce foaming. I’m sure someone can provide the technical details if you’re interested.

When I started buying equipment, I went with a kit just for simplicity. They all come with 5 foot liquid lines. I’ve been using those with picnic faucets until I build out my keezer, and have had no problems except some leaky picnic faucets. I figured, beer line is cheap, so I could always tinker with line length later if I have foam problems.

Also, check out this site if you are looking at a kit and buying parts: http://kegconnection.com/.

I’ve placed a couple orders with them and found their prices to be quite good and their shipping time to be great. Shipped the next day both times. I’ve found better keg prices elsewhere.