My First Batch (Questions)

I just brewed my first batch of the Caribou Slobber three days ago. I placed the primary fermenter in my basement where it’s roughly 65 degrees. Within 12 hours I noticed bubbles in the airlock. I’m on day three now and the bubbles happen every 60 - 90 seconds and the krausen has mostly subsided. Since this is my first time brewing I have a few questions regarding what I’m seeing during fermentation.

1. Is it normal for the krausen to subside so quickly? 2. The recipe calls for a 1-2 week primary fermentation. Since the krausen has subsided so quickly, should I leave it for 1 or 2 weeks? Is there any harm if I leave it the full 2 weeks?

Thanks.

Do you have a means to be able to check the gravity? I typically don’t touch my beers, including a gravity check, until after a week.

Welcome to a great hobby, and congrats on your first brew.

The rate of fermentation depends on a lot of factors, the most important ones being the health of the yeast and the temperature of the fermenting wort. Higher temperatures lead to faster fermentations, but also can lead to off flavors in the finished beer. With a room temperature of 66F, you are at the higher end of where you want to be for most ale yeasts; 60 would be a better place to aim for in the future. It sounds like the beer is acting normally. You do want to leave it the full two weeks though. After the most active stage of the fermentation is over, the yeast spend another week or so cleaning up any by products they produced when consuming the sugars, and then you want to give them time to settle out of solution to the bottom of the vessel. That allows you to syphon clear beer into your bottling bucket.

Dave,

I got the kit for Christmas and wanted to make a batch right away. So no, I don’t yet have a way to measure the gravity. I plan on getting a hydrometer/ Brix in the future.