Mostly Single Hop Brew

I’ve been brewing for the last 10 years (last 3 all grain). Between my own beers and commercial beers, American IPA is definitely my favorite style right now. So, I know I like American style hops, but I don’t know which varieties are my favorite. I’ve begun tinkering with IPA recipes, but it’s hard to decide what late addition hops to add.

To figure out which hops are my favorites, I’d like to brew a series of beers, each with a single variety of hops for the late additions (not a new idea, I know).

So, two things I would like some help on:

1. Picking the right “American” hops to try. My first thoughts are Cascade, Amarillo, Simcoe, Columbus and Centennial. Of these, I can only find Cascade and Columbus now! I’ve used Cascade extensively and really like it, but is Columbus a good choice? Are there other suitable varieties that are available now?
  2. Can I just use the hops interchangeably, or do I need to adjust the amounts?

Base recipe (This is what I’ve brewed in the past and have really liked it with the Cascade. I like to keep things simple, but am open to suggestions)

10 Gallon batch
20 lbs. 2 row
1.5 lbs. crystal 60
1 oz. magnum pellet 60 minutes – I plan to stick with the magnum bittering hops
1 oz. perle pellet 30 minutes – I plan to ditch this relic of the SN clone
2 oz. cascade pellet 15 minutes
2 oz. cascade pellet 5 minutes
4 oz. cascade pellet flame out
2 oz. cascade whole dry hop (1 oz. each carboy)
Ferment with Safale US-05

I’d really appreciate the help! Thanks!

I have made single hop APA/IPA’s with all of the hops that you listed. I was extremely pleased with all of them except the all amarillo APA because it was “too smooth.” Your recipe is solid, so go ahead and start experimenting.

Yes, I think you can use them interchangeably as long as you get the same amount of IBU’s

J