Minneapolis Tap Water

Rather than make the hotly debated “water” thread even longer and more meandering…I’ve decided to make a new post specifically about Minneapolis Tap Water.

Wondering if anyone has any observations about the folliwing info…pulled straight from the most recent Minneapolis Water Quality Report:

Flouride: 1.06ppm

Haloacetic Acids: 22.63ppb

Nitrate as Nitrogen: .36ppm

Total Trihalomethanes: 28.28ppb

Turbidity: .33NTU (highest single measurement)

Chlorine: 3.32ppm (highest quarterly average)

Copper: 90% of samples <.07ppm

Lead: 90% of samples < 2ppb

Sodium: 9.9ppm

Sulfate: 25.5ppm

I see that most of the chatter on water revolves around sulfate and chlorine. Are these levels here significant? How so?

My inclination is DWHAHB, but wondering if these figures stand out to anyone.

I am a noob and doing only extract at this stage.

Thanks,
Bob

http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?ti ... ter_report

Read ^

In addition to what you have there, you’ll want the calcium, magnesium, and chloride (not chlorine) levels, plus either the bicarbonate concentration or the total alkalinity.

Since you are an extract brewer the water isn’t as critical either. Just use the water and add a campden tablet as you are heating it up. This will remove the chlorine.

[quote=“BYO Magazine”]

http://www.byo.com/stories/article/indi ... t-of-water