Megalodon fermentation

How long should it take to see evidence of primary fermentation on Megalodon? It’s been 12 hours since I’ve pitched my yeast and I am not seeing any evidence that it has started. However, I have also not ever brewed such a high gravity beer before. I did use yeast starter and pitched the yeast at about 76-77 F. I know it is not yet time to panic, but I wonder how much longer it should be before panicking is reasonable.

I’d wait another 12 hours before getting concerned. Another day after that before panicking.

My megalodon has been in the bottles about 2 months now. It’s worth the wait.

Visual evidence of primary fermentation has been achieved 13.5 hours past pitching the yeast. The beer is bubbling in the airlock and getting more rapid as time moves on. Patience is the key as people keep reminding me.

Just curious, what yeast are you using and why are you fermenting the beer at such a warm temp?

There are two things you have to know about me; I’m new at this and don’t have many people I can talk to about it. So, here we go. I actually ferment the beer at 70-72F. If I could get it cooler I would. 64 degrees seems to be the recommended temp. I pitched the beer at such a warm temp not intentionally. I don’t have a wort chiller and use an ice bath to cool the wort. So, rightly or wrongly, I figure its best to get the wort to a temperature where the yeast will survive as fast as possible, pitch it, and then seal the fermenter up as fast as possible to avoid contamination. Then I allow the beer to ferment and cool further in my basement.

Not knowing much of anything beyond the very basics about yeast, I just use the dry yeast pack that came in the recipe kit.

Do a search on here for swap cooler it’s cheap way to keep your fermentor cool.