Medicinal Taste

Hi guys,
I’m still pretty new to making mead. The few that I’ve made, both from kits and from home recipes (using local honey from an apiary), have generally tasted somewhat medicinal. Just a bit harsh. I love mead and generally the professional meads I enjoy all taste smooth and clean. I don’t prefer dry or sweet. All I know is that I need my meads to come out smoother and less harsh. What am I doing wrong? I’ve followed strict instructions with adding nutrients, etc. Is it the fermentation temp? The conditioning temp? The yeast? Do I need additional ingredients? Do I need to back sweeten? Help!

Mike

Who’s “strict instructions”??

What temps are you fermenting at???

What temp are you conditioning at???

What yeast are you using???

What ingredients are you using???

Why would you want to back sweeten???

???

Yikes! Didn’t expect that, but I suppose I should come with more info with my questions, huh. Well, some of that I’ll need to go back and research. The strict instructions referred to those that I received with the Curt and Kathy’s Sweet Mead Orange Blossom kit. I don’t have great control over my fermenting and conditioning temps. Therefore, I’m usually doing both at the same temp (room temp). I do know that when I made one of my meads it was during the summer so the temps were likely warmer, like higher 70s. I believe I’ve used wine yeasts (dry) but I can double check. I’ll check back to my recipes to get specific ingredients. Generally I’ve made simple meads with wildflower honey (10-15 lbs per 5 gallon batch) and no additional ingredients other than yeast nutrients. I’ve attempted a few cysers and fruit meads. The cyser, which is currently conditioning, is alright but still harsh. I believe in that one I used 4 gallons apple cider from an orchard and 15 lbs wildflower honey from apiary, used no heat method. Some people have recommended backsweetening to some of the melomels to help get more of the fruit flavor to shine through.