Max Time To Wait Before Pitching Starter

I plan to brew this Belgian Dubbel[/url] soon using the [url=http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/wyeast-belgian-abbey.html]Wyeast Belgian Abbey yeast.

This recipe suggests using a yeast starter. I am a novice (2 batches so far) and have never attempted a yeast starter. I’ve read that you need to wait 12 to 18 hours after making the starter before pitching it. What I cannot seem to find is the maximum amount of time you can wait before pitching. Any help is greatly appreciated.

You can store it in the fridge for at least a week or so and just decant and pitch. And probably a bit longer than that, after a certain point the viability will drop to the point where it’d be best to pitch into another starter, but if you’re only looking at a few days to a week or so should be no problem.

Thanks for the quick reply. How long with no refrigeration?

Thanks for the quick reply. How long with no refrigeration?[/quote]

A week no problem.

Denny,

I plan on doing the Czech Pilsner extract kit this weekend. It suggests to use a starter. What would you reccomend for a starter. Can I make a starter and use it in the same day? Also, do I add the starter in addtion to the normal yeast and do I add it at the same time as pitching the yeast.

I have in stock the Wyeast 2001 Pilsner Urquell. Can I use Saflager S-23 dry yeast to make the starter and still use the above mentioned Wyeast?

[quote=“Denny”]

A week no problem.[/quote]

Thanks!

[quote=“EagleRising”]Denny,

I plan on doing the Czech Pilsner extract kit this weekend. It suggests to use a starter. What would you reccomend for a starter. Can I make a starter and use it in the same day? Also, do I add the starter in addtion to the normal yeast and do I add it at the same time as pitching the yeast.

I have in stock the Wyeast 2001 Pilsner Urquell. Can I use Saflager S-23 dry yeast to make the starter and still use the above mentioned Wyeast?[/quote]