Making hard cider with baker's yeast

Okay, so, I am completely new to brewing… In fact the only reason I’m trying it is that hard cider and wine are the only two alcoholic drinks that I like, and where I live hard cider is simply non existent. Like, it’s just not known at all. The very few places that I found it at sell it for outrageous prices, think like $4 per quarter-liter. So I decided to try to make some myself, not caring too much about the outcome, totally as an experiment.

The reason I used baker’s yeast isn’t that I like being out of line, it’s because… yes, that’s right, no wine yeast or beer yeast etc available here! I tried to get some online, but no luck there either, no one ships here or it’s extremely expensive.

So, I used pasteurized apple juice and baker’s yeast, that’s all. I sealed the jar, let the carbon dioxide out everyday, and today is the 5th day, I tasted it and it tastes good enough to me. No dough smell like some other experimenters suggested online, either.

I have three questions, first, is it safe to drink it without removing the yeast? Second, I read many articles on making cider, some suggested 5 days is enough for fermentation, and some say a few months will do it. At the moment it tastes good enough to me, is there actually any need to let it sit so long? And third, should it be refrigerated/how long will it last without getting contaminated with harmful germs? (This should be answered taking into consideration that I don’t have the most sterilized/professional conditions for brewing)

Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

[quote=“despedida3”]

I have three questions, first, is it safe to drink it without removing the yeast? [/quote]

yes. Yeast is actually very good for you. Lots of Vitamin B.

Ciders typically benefit from a long, slow fermentation (some go as long as a year or longer) and longer conditioning period. That said, if you like the way it tastes now, bottoms up.

[quote=“despedida3”]