Making frst Lager.....needs clarifications

Brewing the Sustainor 2 kit this weekend. Loved the first one so Id give this one a try! This is my first attempt at lagering and there are a couple of things to get cleared up before I get started.

1. The OG of this beer is 1.064. I made a 1000 ML yeast starter using 3/4c of DME. “How to Brew” says beer of this OG will need 180-240 billion yeast cells. Will this starter produce enough yeast cells to allow a healthy fermentation? How can I make it produce enough cells?

2. The starter wort got too cool (38 DC) and i didnt have time to let it warm back up so I yeast anyway. Will this shock the cells or just delay the mini fermentation? Should it be fermented at the primary fermentation temperature?

3. How long should a starter for lagers typically take to ferment?

4. What should the ambient air temperature be during the primary fermentation? I have a mini freezer with a temp override.

What’s the batch size? Typical lager pitching rate is 1.5 million/mL°P, which would be about 1.52016 = 480 billion cells for 5.5 gal of 1.064 lager. The MrMalty calculator
http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html
says that a 1 L starter using “intermittent shaking” (I’m assuming you don’t have a stir plate) will grow to about 180 billion cells. So you’d have, at most, about half of what you should be pitching.

To get to 480 billion cells you could crash and decant the 1 L starter, then add another 4 L of wort. If you’re using a stir plate you’d only need another 2 L of wort.

[quote=“Nelsoj12”]2. The starter wort got too cool (38 DC) and i didnt have time to let it warm back up so I yeast anyway. Will this shock the cells or just delay the mini fermentation? Should it be fermented at the primary fermentation temperature?
3. How long should a starter for lagers typically take to ferment? [/quote]