Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Making fermentation chiller question

I’m a newbie - brewed my first a few days ago and it’s now fermenting. I just discovered that I’m going to want to start trying to keep my fermenters in a temp range. I found this on Craigslist and wanted opinions on if you think this will work. The dimensions tell me it would hold one carboy - just pull the shelves out. The seller of this item says it doesn’t get very cold. I only need it to cool down no more than 10 degrees during the summer.

Opinions please.

Thanks much,
Dave

It might work but in the long term you’d be better off getting a chest freezer and a temp controller, that’s what most home brewers use. If you’re not familiar with temp controllers here is an example http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/ther … oller.html
It allows you to hold a consistent temp at whatever temp you want. In the time being look into swamp coolers which are a bit of maintenance but effective http://billybrew.com/swamp-cooler-homebrew

Assuming the carboy actually fit (did you add a few inches to the height for an airlock?) that could be awesome. …but really just a novelty. You would end up having to shade the door to keep light out…

I would still be concerned about the “doesn’t get very cold” bit. Not being able to chill cokes is bad enough, but soda’s don’t actually PRODUCE heat like the yeast in a fermenter.

And even if the refrigerant were perfect, you would probably still need an external controller.

if you’re on craig’s list, are there any chest freezers in your neighborhood? in my limited shopping experience, I see 5.1 cu ft, will hold 1 fermenter; possibly 2 depending on the internal geometry. 7.1’s usually hold 2 comfortably, with room for a blow-off bucket.