Low OG in NB kits

I have brewed two NB extract kits, the Tongue Splitter pale ale and the Chinook IPA, and both times the O.G. has been below what the recipe kit suggests. I’m new to brewing so I didn’t think I’d hit it right on the mark, but I’m concerned because in both cases the OG has been 10 to 20 points lower than what it should have been. I didn’t divert from the directions and am curious if this could be fixed by utilizing a full volume boil…any suggestions?

I’m assuming that you did a partial boil and topped off with water. Did you take your specific gravity sample without mixing everything together? If you didn’t, your sample could be more watery than you want. I brewed an ESB last week and I was 10 points below what I should have been. I mixed the wort and took a second sample. Still 4 points under but I think that was because I topped to 5.5 gallons rather than 5.0. With an extract kit, I wouldn’t worry a lot. RDWHAHB!

Have you tested your hydrometer to make sure it’s accurate? Short of forgetting to add ingredients or not finishing with the correct volume, extract kits should be pretty much dead on.

http://www.brewheads.com/newvolume.php

Playing around with the above calculator, the difference between 5g of a beer that should be 1.060 and is at 1.055 is .65g.

It’s possible the each batch of LME and/or DME has a variable in the expected OG, but I wouldn’t suspect it to be 10-20 points.

The most likely answers are:

1. you hydrometer is not accurate. A couple years ago my local club did a hydrometer test day. We had a lab grade thermometer and distilled water. I also made up a salt solution based on saturation levels and diluted it down as accurately as possible to make a 1.050 solution. There was only 1 or 2 out of 15-20 that did not need to have some nail polish (mine needed lot’s) to make it read properly. I think 1 needed to have some glass filed off the make it lighter.

2. your water volume is off. That .5g can skew the reading by 1.005.