Low IBU Extract Kits

Although I am a rocking home cook, I am a brewing newbie - I just took NB’s beginners class last month. I am loving it. In reading about beer I have learned that I am also probably considered an amateur when it comes to consuming beer, I just don’t like a strong bitterness in my beer.

Now don’t think I a should be sticking to wine coolers, those are nothing more than soda pop with a kick, I am not a fan of those either. I do like some bitterness, as long as its balanced with full bodied flavor. But I pretty much need to stick with kits that have low IBUs.

I just bottled my first batch of Caribou Slobber. Going into the bottle it was ok but just a hair on the bitter side for me. Will it smooth out with age?

I also just racked a batch of Speckled Heifer into a secondary fermentation and will be bottling it later this week - I know the directions said I didn’t need to do this step but my brewing instructor said he always does a second ferment. The Speckled Heifer seemed to be “spot” on, excuse the pun, with my bitterness tolerance.

I also just brewed a batch of Bavarian Hefeweizen yesterday - have no idea how that is going to taste.

Anyway, I just can’t tell from NB’s descriptions which kits would fit my taste preferences. I would so much appreciate a little help with some recommendations as to which kits are on the lower IBU
side.

One more thing, my farmhouse basement seems to have decent temps for lagering. My temps readings show temps between 48-54, depending on how cold and windy it is outside. I can also do the secondary ferment in a spare refrigerator in our farm machine shop that holds my 21 year old’s “Busch Light” - yuck! But since I can’t handle too much bitter in my beer perhaps I am to blame for his poor taste in beer.

Anyway a lager extract kit is an option for me.

Thanks in advance for everyone’s help.