Looking for advice on AG smoked chocolate porter

Hello, everyone,

I’m new to all grain brewing and, for my first AG brew, I’d like to make a smoked chocolate porter. Any critiques/input would be appreciated; I’ll be using the BIAB method. Thanks for the help!

Batch Size: 5 gallons

9 lbs Maris Otter
2.5 lbs Weyermann Smoked Malt
1 lb chocolate malt
0.5 lb roasted barley
1 lb Crystal 120L
1 lb Molasses
0.5 lb Baker’s chocolate (added to boil, boil for 60 min)

1 oz Kent Goldings hops, 60 min
2 oz Fuggles, 30 min
1 oz Kent Goldings, finish

Wyeast 1028 London Ale Yeast

My last attempt at a Smoked Porter was a partial extract and a 5 gallon boil in which I used 12 ounces of Bries Smoked Malt. When the beer had aged for about 4 months in a keg, I tried some and it was like drinking a bottle of ashes from your campfire. I let it age for another 2 months and there was no improvement. This is the only beer that I have made that I dumped more than I drank. I would get advice from more seasoned brewers, but my experience is use caution on the smoked grain.

I disagree that you can use too much Weyermann/Bamburg smoked malt. I’ve used 100% before with good success. Tastes like a good ham or bacon, if you like that sort of thing. 2.5 pounds should be a good amount without being over the top.

Now, peat smoked malt… that stuff is nasty. No more than 0.5 ounce per 5 gallons, period. I am not kidding. Tastes like burning plastic / electrical fire in any amount more than that.

But Weyermann… you’re fine. No worries.

Thank you dmtaylo2, I believe that your response helped me out as much or more than the original poster. being not that experienced with smoked malt, I thought that they were all pretty much the same as to how the affected the taste. Once again, I have learned some valuable information.

Thanks…

Let me know how your All grain smoked porter turns out.