Learning as i Go, but need Help

I’ll start of by saying this forum has been great wealth of info. I am relatively new to the world of brewing. Started last March with a Caribou Slobber Deluxe home brewer kit. I have now finished 3 beers(The Slobber, American Amber Ale, and Inn Keeper Ale). I bottle the first 3 last spring.

Jump to this fall, I Just bottled my 4th (Smash American Ale) a week ago and have 3 others (Nut Brown, Dry Irish Stout, and Brick warmer Red) in various states of fermentation. My question is this, my beers tend to have a strong dry, bitter after taste, that sticks in the back of the mouth. I went ahead and tried other beers to try and better my brewing practices, but don’t think I quite have it yet. I am using John Palmers book which I received with the mad brewer’s kit. I am brewing all extract so far but contemplating all grain. The two beers that have been the worst seem to be the Amber Ale and the Smash Ale and the Slobber behind that. The Inn Keeper was the best.