Last and final order thru NB

Well, I tried Northern Brewer one last time. I have been a loyal customer, and given them a wad of my money over the past ten years. Starting about five years ago, they began routinely messing up my orders. Seems like every couple orders would be faulty in some manner (crushed grain when uncrushed was wanted, wrong brand of product, obviously old ingredients, etc).

I kept telling myself, “one last try – I’ll order thru 'em one more time and see how it goes.”

Yesterday they lost my business. Later dudes…

When you talked to them about the incorrect order how did they handle it?

That’s not good. I just started brewing at the beginning of this year and have placed a handful of order fRom nb and haven’t had any issues. I Did get a damaged product once but they sent me a replacement right away and had great customer service.

Every company goes through ups and downs. There’s a cycle between “give the best service we can give” and “we need to cut unnecessary expenses” There are no good economic principles for how to balance service cost versus return business. I think the merger was bad on their service level; let’s call it confusion rather than malice that hurt their service. From my perspective, NB seems to be in an improving phase, regaining the lost ground, and upping their game. So I’m surprised at this time.

My main pet peeve with Northern has been their order-to-ship times. Being in PA, UPS has to come a distance for me, and I do not want my order sitting in a UPS warehouse over a weekend. I try to place my orders on Sunday to give them plenty of time to arrive, and the record was a bit spotty. My last order using the new website was much clearer on the timelines. I can see they’re working it; so my willingness to use them is on the rise.

Unfortunately for NB, Amazon is becoming competition; the variety of “Prime Eligible” home brew supplies is improving.