Lagering German Beers

Hello Everyone,

I currently have a Kolsch and Vienna Lager going in my basement and am trying to decide how long to lager them after primary fermentation. A quick internet search yielded a variety of answers (although not necessarily for these two particular styles):

4 weeks
2 months
1 week per degree Plato
1 week per 0.008 of gravity
1 day for every 1000th OG

Apparently, I’m on German kick since I’m also looking at brewing a German Pils and a Munich Helles in the near future (getting ready for summer!), and so I’m wondering what people here do for lagering times for a German lager in the 1.045-1.055 range – what do YOU do?

I’m no lager pro (yet) but in the past I’ve lagered for 4 weeks and then tapped the keg. It’s always been pretty good right away, but definitely improves with extended lagering. So, I’d say lager for a minimum of 4 weeks up to as long as you can hold off.

I concur, My pils see a minimum of 30 days and usually improve even more over the next 30 days.
Amber lagers I go a minimum of 90 days and typically they round out even more if closer to 4 months or so. Bocks I would say no less than 6 months.

Many hurry in the name of keeping beer fresh/ impatience. When it comes to lagers patience is really a virtue.

This: 1 week per degree Plato/ 0.008 of SG is typically sound advice.

I agree with both of the above posters, though I should add that it can also depend on the beer. I brewed a Helles and a Shwatzbier at the end of November, and racked them to kegs for lagering on Christmas. A small taste surprised me; the Shwarzbier was already decent. The Helles clearly needed more time, as expected. But I’ll try to hold off until at least the end of this month before taping either.

I used to tap at 30 days but I found the last pint was the best. Now, my average strength lagers go for a minimum 2 months. A aged a Vienna lager for 4 months last spring at it was freakin’ awesome.