Lager in a Bucket

I’ve been brewing for about six months now and I’m gearing up to try my first lager. I came across a mini-fridge for free and I want to put it to good use. Unfortunately, I can’t fit a carboy in there without some modifications which I’d rather not do at this point (unless this lager really sucks). So, I’m going to do it in a bucket, which just happens to fit perfectly. From what I’ve read on the interwebs its not good to do it in a bucket because there is a greater chance of oxygen leaking in and you can’t see the krausen so it’s hard to know if it’s time to do a diacetyl rest.

So here is my dilemma. I’m going to brew the World Wide Lager extract kit and the recipe calls for primary fermentation of two weeks. From what I read it’s good to do a diacetyl rest but I can’t keep checking to see if the krausen has gone down or not without exposing my brew to oxygen… which I’m scared of even more.

What I’m considering doing is adding a week to the primary fermentation just to make sure I don’t do a diacetyl rest too early. Does that sound about right?

Any advice welcomed!

I do lagers in buckets all the time with no problems. I give it 10-14 days at 48-50° then bring it to the upper 60s for a couple more weeks. The key is to truly lager it after primary fermentation, keg or secondary and keep it below 40° for at least 4 weeks, the colder and longer the better.

http://www.brew-wineforum.com/shwmessag ... geID=59851

This guy doesn’t do any D rests. On his schedule there would be little concerns of O2 permeability of the plastic pails.

+1

Pitch enough healthy yeast and my experience has been that you won’t need a diacetyl rest.

Sounds good… I feel better now. Thanks for the advice, going to order my kit tomorrow.