Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Krausen Question

Evening all!

Brewed my first batch ( 1-gal) of bourbon barrel porter and this particular brewing created lots more krausen than some ipa’s I’ve brewed. I’m a novice here just FYI. Do some beers produce more krausen than others? Are there specific things that directly impact the amount of krausen? Is it desirable to ferment in a vessel that leaves lots of head room for krausen… to try and allow the krausen to dissipate back into the fermenting wort? Just curious and trying to learn.

Thanks!

Jeff

Some yeast (i.e wheat yeasts) produce more krausen and require a bigger headspace for fermenting. In addition healthier yeast produce more as well. Higher OG beers can have more krausen as well as a more violent ferment. Higher ferm temps can also cause more krausen as it sends yeast into overdrive.

Ideally you want to ferment in a vessel big enough to avoid blowoff (where the yeast comes out of the airlock). Hoeever sometimes in homebrewing we don’t have that option. Therefore a blowoff tube becomes important. This is put into the mouth of a carboy or grommet/airlock on a bucket and the other end into water/sanitizer and acts as a big airlock. It also allows the yeast to expell through the tube rather than clogging the regular airlock. Clogged airlocks cause pressure in the fermenter which results in the airlock eventually being blown out as well as yeast. This can be quite messy.

Thanks for the reply, yup I’ve got the blow off tube in place. I’ve used it several times. With the porter I’m brewing: wheat yeast, higher OG, warmer fermentation temp. Got it. Thanks again.

OK. Most wheat strains require a head space of 33%. So either have a big fermenter or a blow off tube! :smiley:

I’m a big advocate of this stuff

Ever since I’ve been using this, I haven’t got any krausen higher than an inch thick even during the most vigorous fermentations. One bottle will last you half a lifetime.