Kolsch or 1007

Both of these strains say they are powdery and stay in suspension post fermentation. Does anyone have any idea of if/ when they would clear on their own. I have no way to cold crash

not exactly sure how long. probably a couple months or so.

you might want to research a product called “biofine clear”. not sure if it needs to be used when the beer is cold or not… if not, it might be what youre looking for

I have no experience with the 1007. The 2565 takes friggin forever to settle out. However, after fermentation is complete, you can dissolve a tablespoon of Knox unflavored gelatin in a little hot water and stir it in. The yeast settles out instantly and will settle out completely in about 24-48 hours. That’s what I do.

However, the White Labs version of Kolsch yeast, WLP029, has no problem at all settling out in normal time. It is for that reason that I will probably stick with WLP029 from now on. You might just want to try that.

1007 takes about 2 months @ 37F to clear without gelatin. You can’t move the keg at all or it will cloud up again.

[quote=“dmtaylo2”]I have no experience with the 1007. The 2565 takes friggin forever to settle out. However, after fermentation is complete, you can dissolve a tablespoon of Knox unflavored gelatin in a little hot water and stir it in. The yeast settles out instantly and will settle out completely in about 24-48 hours. That’s what I do.

However, the White Labs version of Kolsch yeast, WLP029, has no problem at all settling out in normal time. It is for that reason that I will probably stick with WLP029 from now on. You might just want to try that.[/quote]

Thanks for the advice. I’ve never brewed or even drank a kolsch but it’s something I’ve wanted to try for awhile now. From your experience with wlp029 could I expect a pretty clear beer after 3-4 weeks in the mid 60’s?

Yes sir, approximately 3.5 to 4 weeks in my experience. Clear as crystal.

Awesome. Thanks again, I’ll drink one for ya