Kolsch & Common - Need experienced advice asap

Multiple questions here guys so please bare with me. I am preparing to brew a Kolsch & Cali Common (Both 5 Gal. extract batches). I have never brewed either before and am not experienced with lager style ale yeast strains. Thought these would be good to do together because according to the information at Wyeast, they ferment at very comparable temperatures. What is important for me to note is that I will not be able to brew these on the same day due to lack of equipment, but will brew them back to back after the first one goes to the secondary. So my questions are as follows:

1. I know I need a starter for the Kolsch. Is it safe to assume one is needed for the common?
  2. I’m new to starters. How much of a starter would you recommend for each? I watched this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ng0Ib7n4DIA on NBTV and am confused. Is Wyeast recommending a two liter starter?
  3. What temp range do you propagate the starter with this type of yeast strains?
  4. When fermenting these styles, do you maintain the same temp during primary and secondary? I’ve read that some people are cold crashing immediately after primary. My plan was to keep them at 59-60 degrees during both and then cold crash just a few days before kegging.
  5. Finally, which one do you recommend brewing first as I want them to be ready about the same time? My thoughts were to go with the Kolsch first.

Any feedback or experiences that you have had with these styles will be helpful.

I know this is ALOT of questions but I also know there are some great home brewers in this forum who can put me on the right track. Thanks in advance for your advice and help!

1. Wouldn’t hurt to have a starter for both. Check out MrMalty.com to see what size, it depends on how fresh your yeast is.
  2. See answer #1.
  3. Room temp is fine for starters, yeast like it warm. YOu aren’t making beer you’re making yeast.