Keggerator shopping

Mostly window shopping now (hoping to talk the wife into this) but is there anything I should look for specifically or avoid when shopping for a keggerator? Good brands or bad brands? Also, can the draft towers be swapped out with minimal effort. For instance if I bought a single faucet and wanted to upgrade to a double later, or would I better off buying one with a double faucet to begin with?

Also what additional equipment would i need other than kegs and CO2? hoses and lines and regulators and all that stuff? I have no experience with kegging so this would be my first draft system. Looking for an estimated overall cost from soup to nuts.

Yes you can swap out towers pretty easily. I built mine two years ago. I purchased a used kegerator with a single tap tower from a friend for $75 (SCORE!). The wife bought a dual tap tower for me for christmas and I swapped it out in maybe 20min.

Beer lines, gas lines, kegs (buy at least 2 more than your kegerator will hold), CO2 tank, regulator, connections. All said and done, it cost me around $350 to put mine together, but I also found some good deals along the way.

It will come with the beverage lines for the number of faucets on the tower. Go ahead and get a two faucet one. Like dobe said, plan on an extra keg for each faucet you have.

Some fridges come with a CO2 tank. Keep an eye on craigslist, you might find one there. Or check with local welding/fire extinguisher shops to see what they might have. Sometimes they might have an odd ball size they want to unload.

For what it’s worth (my free “advice”), if you’re looking to buy new, just check for reviews on ones that will fit your visual/asthetic wants (unless you have a specific use-case…like wanting to keep it outdoors…see the recent thread on that, I have a model that’s built to weather the elements that I keep on my patio).

Any of them should come with everything you need.