Kegged beer has detergent aftertaste

Hi gang -

I’m rather new to kegging, and I have a problem that has me scratching my head. The first beer I put into a keg (A chocolate/cherry stout) turned out great and went fast. Afterwards, I cleaned it out with some PBW (used 1.5 tbsp per gallon) and hot water, then rinsed it out with equally hot water, let it dry.

The next batch I put into the keg was an IPA, which I noticed had an unwelcome hint of detergent flavor in it. I figured maybe I didn’t rinse it out enough, so the next two times I needed to put beer in kegs, last Friday, I used the same ratio of 1.5 tbsp PBW/gallon of hot water, let it soak for a half hour, and then I really rinsed the crap out of those kegs, then let them sit upside down for an hour or two, then sanitized with some EZ clean, then filled them with a pale and a cream ale respectively, turned on the CO2 and went to bed.

Tried them out today, and again, there is that detergent aftertaste in the beer, both batches. GRR! Has anybody run into this problem? Am I doing anything wrong? People seem to swear by this PBW stuff, should I be using something else to clean my kegs? Could there be something else lending this off flavor to my beer?

Any sage advise would be most appreciated!

Easy clean is a… cleaner. Although they may bill is as a sanitizer. It is almost identical to PBW.

Are you cleaning and pushing rinse water through the dip tubes?

Did you rinse the EZ Clean like you did the PBW? As Nighthawk says, it is a cleaner. You should use StarSan or something similar for sanitation.

[quote=“Nighthawk”]Easy clean is a… cleaner. Although they may bill is as a sanitizer. It is almost identical to PBW.

Are you cleaning and pushing rinse water through the dip tubes?[/quote]

+1. I rinse SEVERAL times with hot water after washing the kegs, and then fill & rinse with starsan. Also make sure you’re adequately washing & rinsing your dip tubes as well as your dispensing hardware & tubing.