Is my batch ruined?

So, Im new to brewing and this is my first batch. thought i did everything exactly as the recipe said but after looking at it something seems wrong. i’ve attached a picture. I did not have a hydrometer when i first started the batch but do now. its currently at 1.020 . I did have a lot of bubble over happen at the very beginning of fermenting. Just trying to figure out what I did wrong and was hoping someone would see the pic and just kinda know what I messed up on.

thx for any help you can give

You may have problems if you left it sitting with the stopper and airlock out for long. From everything I’ve read, blowoff is normal. Somebody with much more knowledge will pipe in soon but your ferment temps may have been a bit high. My suggestions are from a microbiologist’s POV not a seasoned brewer’s so take it for what it’s worth…

Edit: Was it a 1 gal. small batch kit? I saw the second reply and my thoughts were that you probably don’t have any transfer options…

Is the batch ruined? I can’t tell from your picture. What did you do wrong? It looks like too small of a fermenter for the batch that was brewed, but I wouldn’t say that dried krausen in the neck of the carboy means anything in terms of the beer, if you rack it over to a new fermenter (or bottling bucket and bottle from there). It would be good to do 3 tests on 3 straight days to know that your fermentation is complete. Good luck.

yes, it was a 1 gallon batch. I did not leave the stopper off for very long but was pretty concerned about all the stuff that was formed at top of the carboy. Probably incorrectly, i pushed it back into the bottle so that I could take a sample to test with a hydrometer. it was also in a room where the temp was around 60 degrees. I have moved it upstairs where it is sitting at 68 degrees currently