Is it wrong to

Pitch two different types of yeast?

Why is it?

My problem is that I am fairly new to brewing, and have only done small mr beer kits. I jumped head by going to all grain and tripling the batch size. And the yeast pitched (belgian stout) looks like its not doing the job. It looks like its already slowing down after five days. Now I have Irish ale hanging out for my next batch. I love experimenting with crazy ideas, but I think I should ask around to see if putting to different type of yeast in a brew is a huge no no.

My plan is once I moving the wort from primary to secondary Carboy, is to pitch the Irish ale yeast. And do another 7 day sit. One reason is because hops(a lot of them) got pass my filter into primary.
Also I will be doing the next pitching with yeast that i did a starter with.

And I know that your going to ask… What the gravity? Well my meter broke during brewing and Im wait for another one.

So… Is the idea good, bad or “hell kid, try it”

well, the reason people don’t pitch 2 types of yeast is because one will inevitably out-compete the other (and you wont know which one until you drink some). i wouldn’t do anything until i checked the gravity. if its slowing down after 5 days i would say it is doing its job, and probably finishing out. if you don’t have a hydrometer try tasting the beer, does it taste like a stout? can you detect alcohol? (keep in mind it may not be completely finished). hops in the primary wont cause any problems or affect the yeast