Is it too late to add water to my beer?

I’m a noob. I brewed two, 1-gallon batches, then upgraded to a 5-gallon operation. My first, and only, 5-gallon kit called for a 2.5 gallon partial boil. I was very confused about how/when to add the additional water to bring the wort up to 5 gallons. I thought I had to boil/sanitize any additional water before I added it, so after all the water loss from boiling my wort and my additional water (which I now know I really don’t need to do) I only ended up with about 3.75 gallons in my fermentation bucket, which has been fermenting about a week now.

I have a few questions: Is it safe to add distilled water to beer that has been fermenting for a week? Should I just leave it alone? If I leave it alone, will the beer be extra dense, bitter, alcoholic etc from being over a gallon short of what it should be?

It’s believed that the mega brewery’s make a higher gravity beer and dilute it down to sell to the public. The problem is adding oxygen (dissolved in the water and splashing) will case the beer to stale and take on a cardboard flavor.

I would want to boil the water to drive the oxygen out. Then carefully add it.

Over a gallon short on water may have raised the ABV 2 points or more and raised the bitterness. Possible make it more “malty”.

What recipe is this?

I’ve done it before with no problem. Just make sure you boil the water and cool it to the same temperature (1-2 degrees off is fine, but after 3 those sensitive yeasties risk getting shocked by sudden temperature change). Like Nighthawk said make sure you add the water as lightly as possible to avoid adding/dissolving oxygen into the solution. Relax, bro, it’ll be beer in the end.

Its a Full Sail Pale Ale clone that my local homebrew shop put together for me. I was nervous about adding water at first, and then I got nervous about not adding water once its been fermenting for a week.