IPA Grain Bill

I know I need to be more specific than just IPA because there are subgroups now…I guess mine is more of a West Coast IPA focusing more on flavor and aroma than outright bitterness and I do like them to be crystal clear.

So I’ve been using the same grain bill for a few years. Roughly 77% 2 row, 14% vienna and 9% c 40. Recently I feel like they’re on the sweet side even though I get great attenuation with WY1056 or 1272 and typically end up around 1.008-1.010 FG. Sort of an odd caramel like quality to the taste that I find less pleasing all the time.

I recently brewed the Resilience recipe which was just 2 row and 7% c40. I felt like it had that same flavor.

Right now I’m thinking I may eliminate the C malt and cut the vienna in half. May even do a batch with straight 2 row.

What kind of grain bill are you guys using for IPAs?

1 Like

I’m similar in my % base malt to % Chrystal malt. You could try dropping it to 5% or even less. I make a rye IPA with about 5% my Belgian pale ale is 4%. You could drop it all and just use wheat and mash at a higher temperature or not. Have you tried a Brut IPA I think the amylase enzyme will eat some of that Chrystal malt also

1 Like

I’m always changing it up but I almost always have a pound of wheat in there. I stopped using crystals and the like completely maybe some Golden Naked Oats instead.

1 Like

I think your adjustments look good. Maybe just a little crystal for color purposes. Do you think mashing around 148 would help offset the sweetness with some dryness?

Your base recipe works well for pale ale or IPA.

I do about 73% 2 row, 5% each of Crystal 20, 120, and Melanoidin. 10% Torrified Wheat. 2% Vienna.