Insane evaporation rate!

A few days ago I brewed a 5.5 gallon batch of IPA and ended up with only 3.75 to 4 gallons of wort in the carboy??? I am fairly new to brewing still (only 8 all-grain batches) but haven’t missed gravity this badly. I also can’t seem to sink my brewing with the beersmith software yet. I collected 8.2 gallons of 1047 wort and ended up with about 4 gallons of 1077 wort on a 90 minute boil (shooting for 5.5 @ 1066). How much does ambient temp affect evaporation rate? It was 32f in my garage but I am using a 20 gallon megapot (really wide opening). I am willing to take a bit of a hit on efficiency in order to stick with this pot and get 5 to 5.5 gallons in the end. When I mess around with the numbers, it claims I would be at about 25 -26% evaporating rate in order to hit my numbers. Anyone else dealing with this problem? I should have added more water during the boil to compensate…does anyone do this regularly? Thanks for any advice, I just want to be able to start with the right amount of liquid so that the hopping doesn’t have to be adjusted on the fly to compensate for adding water all the time.

I realize this is a question that take time to answer and may be a pain so I greatly appreciate your responses!

Evaporation rate is directly proportional to the surface area of the boiling wort. If a normal guy has a boil kettle maybe 14 inches in diameter but your kettle is much larger at more like 22 inches in diameter, your boiloff rate will be higher by a ratio of the square of the radiuses. In this example, your radius is 11 inches versus 7 inches, which could increase your boiloff by a ratio of 121/49 = 2.5 times. So if a normal guy boils off one gallon per hour with his 14-inch kettle, you will easily boil off 2.5 gallons for the same recipe with your huge kettle. I don’t know the actual radius of your kettle but this is why your boiloff rate is so enormous.