Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Imperial Stout Fermenting in Basic Starter Kit Bucket

Ok so I’m fairly new to home brewing and I’m planning on making my second batch in the coming weeks. I did a pumpkin ale for my first round this fall and it turned out pretty nice (made with real pumpkin too).

Anyways, I want to do a big Imperial Stout but I have some reservations about using the basic 5gal bucket that comes in the kit that my fiance bought for me last year. (It’s just the basic kit from NB)

I have a 5 gallon better bottle for a secondary fermentation vessel but from what I’ve read maybe I’m going to need a 6 gal. b.b. for the primary as well and allow blow off every once in a while? Or will my big bucket with the airlock suffice?

Thanks everyone-

Hello.

You will want to put a blow off tube on your primary vessel. There is a pretty funny video going around of a Brewer that fermented a Russian imperial stout in a bucket using only an airlock. What a mess.

With a blow off tube, you’ll be much safer and less stressed.

What are your concerns with using the plastic pail for a fermenter? It’s just like any other beer. You can easily leave it in the pail for 2-3 weeks. Then transfer to a BB if you like to age it longer before going to bottles/kegs.

Yeah I’m worried about the pressure buildup and worrying that a bucket with an airlock won’t be sufficient to prevent the pressure buildup. Like colombo117 noted, I don’t want to cause a big mess with this guy.

So if I use a blow off tube, should I just leave it on permanetly during the first full fermentation?

Thanks for all the help everyone-

More headspace, keep it at the lower end of the yeast’s temperature range, and buy some Fermcap-S, too.

Ferment in the bucket… should be 6.5gallon and not 5 if you got it in a NB kit. The 6.5gallon bucket should be big enough, but use a blowoff anyway for such a big beer, just in case. Get a 3 piece airlock if you don’t have one. They’re cheap… like $2-$3.