I'm a newbie from Mass!

Hello all!!! As my subject line says I am from Mass and new to the hobby.
I made my first brew this past Sunday and it was a lot of fun. It is a Black IPA from a recipe by my local brew supply store. I am only doing a single fermintation this time but I am about to take another step forward this weekend.
I am going to make a Pale Ale from there basic recipe but I am going to kick it up a notch and dry hop it in the primary after the fermintation stops. I am going to do a both aroma and flavor hop, 1 ounce of each for my first time. Anyone have any do’s or dont’s for me?. All input is welcome)
Mike.

personally i would wait and dry hop in the secondary. when you say flavor and aroma hops do do mean in the boil don’t you?

As speed said, dry hopping is going to benefit you in secondary…

My advice would be to work on your process and consistency the first few brews, then start to get creative with tweaking recipes,etc… If you keep changing things every time you brew as you are learning, and something doesn’t come out quite right, it will be hard to identify what area you need to fix.

Brewing is a lot like science experiments…first you do things a few times the exact same way (control)…then you start to change certain factors and see how they affect the results (variables). Try brewing different recipes and styles, when I started I found a certain recipe I enjoyed and brewed it 3 times out of the first 10 brews I ever made. It helped me a lot because I got minor differences in the results, but careful note taking helped me figure out what variables in my process changed the outcome.

Welcome aboard! :cheers:

I was going to dry hop with a aroma and a flavor hop in the primary… Read a lot of articles where people dry hopped in the primary after the fermentation was pretty much all done. So is this a bad idea?