I have a couple of questions

I have read many post here and watched video on You Tube trying to clarify a few things. I am new to the hobby of homebrewing but already totally addicted. I brewed my 4th batch this morning, NB Cream Ale. My first was a Coppers Wheat that I added raspberry extract too which turned out rather yummy :cheers: . I have a NB Irish Red and a Coppers IPA conditioning in kegs.

Ok, that’s enough brackground now to the questions: Reading the recipie it says to start off with 2 1/2 gallons of water, is this something that you need to accuratly measure? In the end you top off with tap water to 5 gallons so does it really matter that you start off with just 2 1/2? I am not getting the logic behind this so that is the reason for the question. Along the same lines here… Do you boil the wort for 1 hour with a lid or without a lid on your pot? Obviously without a lid you will lose some water but nothing really tells you which way to go here.

I want to go all grain as soon as I get my technique down and feel I really understand the in’s and out’s of what to and what not to do. Thanks for any and all advice.

If you have the capacity in your boil kettle, I would just do a full boil of 6 gallons or so(depends on your evaporation rate) without a lid on, if not just start with as much as you can and make sure you shake vigorously to mix the water and wort after you top off. Also with extract recipes, you can add half of your LME at the beginning of the boil and the other half with 10-15 min left, you’ll achieve a better colored beer this way.

The 2 1/2 gallons is probably to maake sure you start at the right gravity, and you don’t want to boil with a lid - I forget what it is, but you want something to evaporate during the boil. You CAN have a lid on until the boil is reached though, then take it off.