How warm before hops start growing?

I’m new to hops growing. I planted rhizomes last year and actually got some usable hops the first year. I’m anxiously awaiting signs of life in my hop garden this spring, but nothing yet. It’s been a long cold winter here in Upstate New York, but I’m wondering if anybody has a rough temperature range when they see their hops starting to grow. I’ve read how hops shoot out so early in the spring that the first shoots freeze. Is this true? Thanks.

It’s still cold in Wisconsin but my hops are all poking up right now. They’re tiny and purple but I can see them coming up. If you have mulched your hop beds over the winter, you do need to remove the mulch if you want to see what’s going on, but be careful not to damage them – use your hands, not tools. My Cascades always get a much later start than my Hallertau. Hallertau is at about 1.5 inches up right now, whereas Cascades are teeny tiny, maybe a half inch. Most tips are purple – look for purple and you might find some.

Yep, if I carefully dig a little through the compost I put over them back in the fall, I can see the shoots.  Thanks, Dave.

OK, so this is my second year on my hops as well. Last year I just let them grow as they wanted. No trimming or pruning. THis year I guess I should manage them. I started with 3 rhizomes last year. So this year, how should I proceed. Do I just let them go crazy or do I have to limit them? I have heard people say to trim away all but 2 or 3 vines from each rhizome. Is that what I should do?

Shoots will always come up in clusters. I break off all but 2 or 3 from each cluster, or enough for 2 or 3 per string available for them to climb. If you want more hops, put up more strings on your trellis, as high as you can. If climbing a fence or other broad structure, then you can just let them go crazy if you want.