How old is too old?

I’ve been brewing for a few years and I’m coming across a new problem. My beer closet has filled up too much with beer I brewed within the last year, even >1 year.

How old is too old?

I tried cracking a few open recently and each one was bad. There was a metallic taste to each one.

Is there a standard period to drink homebrew?

Depends on the beer. Big, high alcohol beers like a Barley Wine or Imperial stout age well. IPAs will lose the hop bitterness and taste over time. I once dug out a bottle that was not labeled that I guessed to be at least five years old. Didn’t taste spoiled or infected but didn’t taste like anything really. I couldn’t decide what style it was supposed to be.

Metallic taste is usually caused by just that, some kind of metal. There is a pretty good and short description here Common Off-Flavors - How to Brew

1 Like

Metallic taste can come from over carbonation. Pour it into a glass and let it gas off a bit.

1 Like

I have bottles of Belgian Dark Strong that are 4+ years old. Had one recently and it was really good. 3 year old Rye Porter is better, smoother than ever.

You may as well chill them down, and find out for yourself… Sneezles61

I have about 10 cases of beer in my cellar right now. I know all about drinking it old. The question of “what’s bad?” is a personal one. It comes down to personal preferences, and yes, each beer will age differently. Personally, I don’t mind a slightly stale beer, but others do. At a certain point, most beers will go bad. In those cases, I do indeed end up dumping some of my really bad beers that might have been fine when first bottled, but eventually really don’t suit my fancy at all anymore. I’d say this happens with about 20% of my old beers. Most of them might be a little “off” but still drinkable. Others might not agree.