How Much -WLP007 Dry English Ale Yeast

Hello, I am still rather new to the brewing process and had a question about the WLP007 Dry English Ale Yeast since I have never used it before. Is it ok to just use one vial of this for a 5 gallon batch? I am not making any starter with it, I just planned on pitching the vial direct to the fermentor…

Thanks for any help!

It will probably get the job done, but it may have a longer lag time. Also, the yeast may be stressed after this batch, so if you harvest yeast, it may underperform. Making a starter would be your best bet, and it isn’t tough to do. If you have a couple of days before brew day, I would look into it.

BTW, what’s the SG of the brew you plan on doing?

Like I said, I am still new. this is actually my first 5 gallon batch.
Not sure about a starter. I guess I’ll read up! :slight_smile:
the starting gravity is 1.054.

So just the one vial will do on it’s own but best to make a starter with it?

One packet should be fine with that OG. Making a starter from dry yeast can be done but it is much more common with liquid yeast which typically will have much lower cell counts. Rehydrating or not is a whole 'nother topic. I usually don’t…

[quote=“zephed666”]Like I said, I am still new. this is actually my first 5 gallon batch.
Not sure about a starter. I guess I’ll read up! :slight_smile:
the starting gravity is 1.054.

So just the one vial will do on it’s own but best to make a starter with it?[/quote]
I think it will get it done. You will have a bit more lag time, but if sanitization is good, no problems

thanks everyone!

It’s not a dry yeast it’s liquid from white labs. The “dry” means it will finish dry, it has high attunation.

Above noted. Then my answer still applies. I would make a starter with liquid yeast even a “dry” liquid yeast :stuck_out_tongue:
He will make better beer with a better pitch rate if he does.

I was reading up on starters. just quick overviews…