How Long To Use Equipment Before Getting New?

I have been brewing for over a year now, and I still use all of my original equipment which I received with my deluxe starter kit from NB. How long do people use there equipment before getting new, replacement parts?

I have gotten new tubing for bottling and siphoning but still use most of the original equipment.

Specifically, I want to know how long people use the same auto-siphon and blow-off hose? Although I always sanitize my auto-siphon and blow-off hose, they both have areas where they are dirty with some brownish scum. Is this still good to use or should I change out my equipment for replacement parts?

Cheers!

I think most people recommend replacing tubing every couple of years, but that depends how often you brew and what chemicals you use to sanitize with. I’ve been using the same tubing for several years, no ill effect. If my forum stalking is accurate, I think Denny has been using the same equipment for much more than a few years :smiley:

Alright, thank you for the reply! I just wanted to see if I should be replacing some of my equipment other than my tubing.

Cheers!

[quote=“Shenanigans”]

Specifically, I want to know how long people use the same auto-siphon and blow-off hose? Although I always sanitize my auto-siphon and blow-off hose, they both have areas where they are dirty with some brownish scum. Is this still good to use or should I change out my equipment for replacement parts?

Cheers![/quote]
I would be a little worried about the “brownish scum” in your auto-siphon. How do you clean up after useing it? Me, after useing my A.S. I rinse and clean and rinse again and then keep it in a wallpaper tray, full of starsan until the next use, it only takes a minute or so. My A-S is crystal clear after many,many batches.

By blow off hose do you mean the hose that is with the A-S or a blow off hose that goes to your primary? I do change my hoses from time to time. Cheap insurance of the unknown.