How long to keep in Primary / Secondary?

I’m new to home brewing and am in the process of brewing my first two batches of beer. Since I’ve never done this before, I have a couple of questions about when to move to the next phase. Caribou Slobber has been in secondary for two weeks and it looks like there are specks of dust floating in the beer and powder along the sides of the carboy. I swirled it around and the stuff seems to sink to the bottom. Also, CO2 is still bubbling (although infrequently) through the airlock. How do I know when it is time to bottle? Batch two, Bavarian Dunkel Lager, Is finishing its second week in primary, but it is still bubbling away. and the foam on top has not settled back into the beer. How do I know when it is time to move to secondary fermentation? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

you know when to move to secondary, or when to bottle when fermentation is complete. take a gravity reading now, and in 3-5 days. if the gravity is the same, then it’s OK to move the beer

rule of thumb is to let it sit in the primary for 2-4 weeks. Secondary is optional and not necessary, but you should leave it in the secondary anywhere from one week, to several weeks

Lager, do you have it in place that is between 50*-55*?

Yes, room is at 52 degrees

:shock: Give the lager a full month before secondary. You’ll be glad you did. Following fermentation the yeast still do things to clean up the beer, so moving it off too soon can result in some off flavors.

There will be those who disagree, but let’s put it this way - I’ve never had a problem with beers left in the primary a month and I have tasted problems in beer racked too soon. By the same token, 3 weeks is probably fine if you pitched enough yeast.

I have read what S.Scoggin suggested on other posts as well.