How long can I wait?

I ordered my new Essentials Starter Kit for my birthday (yay!). Then, we had a family emergency. My kit arrived last week while I was out of town, and I’m leaving again twice in the next few weeks. Basically, it looks like I can either have my brew day Saturday, and then let it ferment for almost four weeks instead of two before bottling, or leave the whole kit alone and just brew it when I get back towards the end of July. The dried yeast packet is in the fridge, so now my big questions are:

1. Is there anything else that should be refrigerated?
  2. Is it better to let it ferment longer or just sit longer before starting?
  3. Will either wait cause harm to my new beer?

In case it’s important, I have the American Wheat recipe kit and also the Mad Brewer’s Upgrade Kit. And, in case you can’t tell, I’m new to homebrew and anxious to get started! :cheers:

Go ahead and brew it. Four weeks is not too long by any means. I usually primary only, and most beers get four to six weeks in the primary ferment or.

Four weeks of un interupted fermenting is great. Most new brewers have problems with not being able to wait. But you need to be sure the temp will be able to be controlled while its unsupervised. At least during thevfirst few days of active fermentation. Ales generally speaking need to be held at low to mixed 60s beer temp. Fermentation can generate some heat above ambiente temp

I don’t know what is in the kit but here it goes.

1. If it just has malt extract, liquid canned is fine in the cupboard, dry in a cool dry place both for a long time. Any grains will be good in a cool dry place for weeks, maybe months if crushed. Longer if not.
  2. Longer is better within reason. It is tough to wait out your first one and four weeks will help it.
  3. Either way is not really a problem in those time frames but I vote for four weeks in the fermenter. Some big beers like a Barley Wine can go months in fermenters. Your wheat will be fine for one.