How easy is it to infect a batch?

I remember when i started brewing i was always very worried about infecting a batch of beer…many times i thought i have infected a batch but i dont think i have ever truly had an infected batch…anyway how easy is it to infect a batch? Im guessing you would have to really F up to catch a bug…anyone ever have a contamination issue?

I have a coworker who had a batch go bad, he reported that under the ring of crusty crap from the krausen subsiding there was a second ring of green, fuzzy crap. (sounded like bread mold, but I’m not sure.)

Anyway, I gather there’s not a lot of bugs that really like living where there are hops (which has antiseptic properties) and where there is yeast, which protects itself with a CO2 blanket, and suffocates most airborne baddies. so with proper sanitization infections should be pretty rare, even if not unheard of. Probably if you brew enough it become inevitable.

I remember handling my first batch like radioactive material haha. I think I picked up a bug in a starter. I brewed the first batch harvested the yeast and used it for another batch before I started drinking the first batch. The first batch was a little weird and had clove tastes it shouldn’t have had but the second from the harvested yeast all gushed and had stronger off tastes than the first so I had to dump it. But after 20 batches that’s it

I’ve wondered the same thing. I have around 30 successful brews so far since I’ve started brewing with no infections but I’m also a clean /starsan freak. I recently went to a friends who also happens to be a pro brewer to sample some small Batch lagers. He used an auto siphon to pull our samples with and never once sanitized it just pulled it off the shelf and rinsed with hot water. That made me think maybe I tend to go overboard with my cleaning / sanitizing but it helps me sleep better at night. :smiley: