How are "ready dates" determined?

How does Northern Brewer determine the “ready dates” for kits? I’ve been ordering extract kits for over 7 years, and I’ve never had one that didn’t taste fully mature 1-2 months beyond the “ready” date, even relatively simple brews.

The Bourbon Barrel Porter in particular has a ready date of 2 months, but I found it quite oaky and lacking the clean, crispness of a truly “ready” beer until it reached the 5 month mark. At 6 months it was awesome – smooth and creamy. If I hadn’t kept any past 2-4 months I’d have thought it was a bad recipe.

Maybe some type of “ready range” would be more helpful, especially to new home brewers?

This is an excellent question. But I believe the answer is largely subjective. In theory, the beer is “ready” as soon as primary fermentation is done. But we all know that flavors will continue to develop well beyond that point. So the question is… As a brewer, what type of flavors are you looking for? Do you need to wait a while to get those or are they where they need to be right out of the gate?

I would imagine that those dates are more for marketing purposes to new brewers who want to taste their beer right away.

Also, their definition of “ready” probably just means that fermentation is done and the bottles have had two weeks to carb up, which - in most cases, is 4-6 weeks.

But I would agree, most beers - from a kit or otherwise - are not really at their peak until several weeks after bottling/kegging.