Honey!

I am still a novice brewer, and I am still experimenting with different kits and recipes. I wanted to try and brew with some honey, I have read all of the ridiculous rules and different things that can go wrong with brewing with honey. So I did an experimental 1 gallon batch and added 5 oz of honey after flame out. I dont think it is going to turn out well, can anyone help me with tips for a 5 gallon recipe. I have a kit of american wheat that I wanted to add honey to. All help is welcome!

I’m not really sure what rules you’re referring to but adding honey at flame out shouldn’t cause any issues. The wort is boiling when you stir it in.

That’s a resonable amount for one gallon of beerr. I’ve used a pound of honey in a 5 gallon recipe.

Why do you think it’s not going to turn out well? What are you trying to accomplish by adding honey?

If you’re looking for sweetness or honey flavor you won’t really get it from adding honey to the kettle. The simple sugars will be some of the first consumed by your yeast during fermentation. The alcohol created will have a drying effect on your beer rather than imparting flavor.

Some brewers believe that highly aromatic honeys impart flavors but that’s contributed by the flower the bees collected the nectar from.

If you’re looking for honey taste in the finished beer something like a honey malt might give you more flavor.

I was looking for more of a honey taste yes, I didnt think it was going to turn out well because of the sugar in the beer and how much it would throw off the fermentation time. Since the sugar in the honey is going to cause it to ferment for a longer period correct? Or am I wrong?

Maybe…but fermentation time is up to the yeast. Not what some instruction sheet says or what the recipe creator thinks.