Honey IPA Recipe

Hey y’all,

Heres my recipe for my Honey IPA. Its my first time coming up with a recipe other than brewing from a kit so any constructive criticism would be wonderful. Thanks and merry christmas!

Honey IPA Recipe

1056 Wyeast American Ale yeast
1 lb Honey Malt
6.6 lbs Sparkling Amber Liquid Extract
1 lb Pale Dry Extract
2 lbs Bees by the Bay Goldenrod Honey
Hops:
Bittering: 1 oz Simcoe, UK Kent Goldings, Chinook
Flavor: 1 oz German Tettnag, German Hallertau
Aroma: 1 oz UK Fuggle, Liberty, German Hallertau
:cheers:

From what I’ve heard, that sounds like a lot of honey malt. A lot of different hops, too. Describe how you want the hops to present themselves.

Well I picked all of the different hops because I wanted to have a lot to balance out the sweet honey. I want a clean bitterness to go well with the sweetness. A citrusy, crisp hoppy taste with a nice subtle aroma. I chose all those hope also because I thought they would all do a great job with either bittering or flavor or aroma. I don’t know what combo of hops works best. Which ones do?

Hoping someone else jumps in, as I’m by no means a hop master, but generally, a couple of varieties is plenty for most beers. Here are the descriptions of the hops you’ve listed:

Goldings- Flowery
Simcoe- intensely piney
Chinook- Piney, with some grapefruit
Hallertau- Flower/spice
Tettnag- Slightly spicy
Fuggle- woody/fruity
Liberty- Flower/spice

So I see some traditional UK woody/spicy directions, some west coast pine/resin bombs, and a little bit of German spice mixed together. This can get a little muddy when you mix things together, but looking again, most of your flavor/aroma hops look pretty similar… I was just thrown with the Simcoe/Chinook you’re using for bittering.

It’s definitely an international consortium of hops in there! Is that 1 oz of each or 1 oz of a blend of the bunch?

If it’s an IPA is it american or english? Do you want it to be bitter or highly flavorful/aromatic.