Homegrown hops, not happy with them

I am ready to give up using my homegrown hops. I’ve been growing for 5 years now. Cascade, Centennial, Horizon, Columbus, and just planted Chinook last summer.

I’ve have mixed results with these hops. Cones seem to have good aroma but it doesn’t come through to the beer. Bitterness seems to be there. Flavor is in the ballpark but “coarse or rough” except the Columbus which just plain nasty. A garlic/onion flavor. I typically use +20% to account for the lower utilization with the leaf hops.

In frustration with inconsistent results in the past, I completed 4 small single hop IPA batches with last fall’s harvest. They didn’t pass my simple taste test: “would I order another at a brew pub?”

I live just east of the Twin cities so the growing season is short. The plants are shaded until mid-morning. I think I take good care of the plants: fertilize early and mid-season with organic manure. Water daily. I’ve read everything on could find on when to harvest. Each plant gives reasonable yield. Cascade (2 bines) yielded almost 2 lbs dry so I think the plants are doing OK.

I am ready to take this variable out of my brewing and leave the hop growing to the professionals. I’ll grow them just for kicks but doubt I’ll use them next year.

Any thoughts, similar experiences, suggestions ?

So just use them for bittering pale ales and IPAs (where you don’t need to know or care about alpha acids so much). No need to let them go to waste, and you can save a lot of money not having to buy bittering hops.

I use mine for bittering my heavier beers and I LOVE dry hopping with them. There is something that makes my heart cringe every time I put $12 worth of hops in the bag to dry hop, but when I use the homegrowns, I don’t care about the cost- there is none!