Home Brew Apple Cider Help

I am new to this and have been trying to read as much as I can but am currently stumped. I have done everything and now it is hanging out in the 2nd fermentation. It has stopped and I just tasted it and it is kinda harsh. I have read that this is normal but I would like to sweeten it. I was under the impression I could sweeten it with sugar at this point and then stop the yeast with potassium sorbate and then it wouldn’t ferment anymore. I am ok with a flat cider if it is a little sweeter. My question is how much sugar should I add to 5 gallons? Ballpark? Any thoughts or help on this? I also added a little apple flavor (non-fermentable flavor) so it has a little apple taste but I want it a tad bit sweeter. Thanks for your help!

I would download Qbrew or use the calculator at Tastybrew.com to see how much sugar will raise the SG a certain number of points based on the volume you have. Add that and taste it in a day or so. Then add more if needed.

If you do have 5 gallons, sugar adds 1.046/gallon/lb. So in 5 gallons, 1lb would raise your SG 9 points.

The question then is, where are you, and where do you want to go. If you are at 1.005, and want to go to 1.020. That is 15 points. 15/9= 1.6lbs

Thanks for getting back to me. Right now I am at like 1.005 (i bought a cheap one so its hard to see exactly). I started at 1.048 after I added a cup of brown sugar ( i didn’t want to overdue it my first time). I am not trying to make it a higher ABV but more sweet. Is there I way I can add say a pound of sugar and then put potassium sorbate in to kill the fermentation and just get the sweetness? Or how much sugar can or should I add as a starting point?

Looking at this thread over in the “cider” forum :wink: , El Capitan uses a couple cans of frozen apple juice to sweeten his cider.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113033