Higher than expected efficiency?

First, let me start out by admitting I haven’t gotten a water report yet–It’s on my to-do list, though!

Over the past 10 all-grain batches, I was getting a very consistent 72% efficiency and getting very close to my target gravities. Grinding with a corona-style mill, mash in a cooler with false bottom and batch sparge, and with a mesh bag and a dunk sparge. Regardless of the specific technique, the end result was very consistent.

However, on my last two batches, a porter and stout, I seriously overshot my target gravity, and to hit the numbers in Beersmith I had to up the efficiency to 87% and 82%, respectively. These two specific recipes called for calcium chloride, and it was the first time I used it with my well water.

I’m a rookie at water chemistry, but is it possible that a 5-gram addition of calcium chloride could end up with that big of an efficiency bump given a certain unknown water chemistry? I can’t think of any other differences from brew day.

If anyone has any other ideas I should consider, I’m all ears. My goal is consistency, not super-high efficiency, so whatever I can do to make the end result match the recipe would be great.

Is that mash efficiency or total brewhouse efficiency?

Mash efficiency, I believe.

It’s possible the added calcium chloride lowered your pH to a level where you would get better efficiency but I don’t know enough about the chemistry side of things to know if you could experience a 15% increase. My gut tells me no but that’s just a guess.

Is it possible you improved flow or eliminated dead space in your mashtun?

I agree - that big of an increase struck me as odd, but I can’t think of any other differences. If it could have made that big of a difference, I would have thought my previous brews would have suffered from significant issues with tannins or other off flavors.