High Gravity Batch Sparge

Hi guys,
I’ve been brewing all-grain doing batch sparges for a few years now. I almost always hit my estimated OG and have good efficiency. But, I don’t have a lot of experience doing high gravity batches. I just attempted to brew a big stout. My total grain bill was about 18# for a 5 gallon batch. My estimated OG was 1.098. However, after collecting my first 7 gallons to boil, I still had quite a bit of sugar left. My first runnings came to an OG of about 1.080 and I did a second runnings batch (collected 3 gallons) that came to 1.050. So clearly there was a decent amount of sugar. My question is: how can I get more of that sugar to collect in my first runnings so I can boil one batch and reach my anticipated OG. Is this more difficult with batch sparging for any reason? Or are there any tricks? I’d like to be able to keep mashing this way but also be able to brew big beers while collecting more of the sugars and not letting them go to waste. Thanks. Hope that made sense.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Mike

Batch-sparging efficiency drops with big beers because the grain is holding more wort (sugar) in proportion to the boiling volume. You can either sparge more (and boil longer) or add more grain to counter this (and then you can do a nice small beer from the second runnings).

Thanks. That’s what I suspected. And, ultimately that’s what I ended up doing. I enjoy batch sparging and don’t have the equipment or time to do fly, so I’ll just keep this in mind and adjust as needed.

Mike

You can also add a second sparge (third runnings) using less water for the mash and first runnings so you still end up with the same pre-boil volume. That will pull some additional sugars from the grains, though it will still leave a lot.

That has been my experience with batch sparging with a rectangular cooler and fly sparging on a Sabco system.