Help with my first 2 extract batches - 1 stuck fermentation?

I have a little situation that I’m looking for help on. Please excuse the long story, I’m new to this…

As a wild b-day present, my friend got me the patersbier kit back in March. I finally took the plunge a week ago and batched it. It was my first attempt with a legit beer kit and I felt pretty good about the whole process vis a vis sanitation, steeping/boiling, cooldown (I bought a wort chiller) and temperature control throughout. I’m not at all knowledgeable or technical about this yet, but I at least feel I followed the instructions to a T and I have also read up with some materials… How To Brew for one and respect the basic principles essential to a successful brew.

Anyway I pitched the yeast (Wyeast 3787) at 75 F into a 6.5 gal PET bucket and put the airlock on half full with vodka. I planned on keeping my basement room between 70-75 F and about 36 hours later I was seeing a bubble every 5 seconds or so which was very promising. That only lasted for about 48 hours though. A week later with no sign of activity, now I am worried that the yeast either died due to temperature fluctuation, (using a space heater I changed it between 65 and 75 a few times) or were not active enough to sustain the fermentation. My main reason for concern is that when I activated the smack pack, it did not swell hardly at all, even though I left it out overnight at room temp. Since I’ve never used one before, I assumed a little swelling was enough.